Local School Council members are elected every two years by parents, community members, and school staff. Members serve two-year terms, with the exception of high school student representatives, who serve one-year terms. Interested candidates must complete several application forms.

The Nomination period for LSC candidates was extended due to the pandemic. The new date was October 2, 2020 at 3 p.m. People who submitted forms in the spring did not need to submit new forms.


As you are aware, the district was unable to hold the Local School Council (LSC) elections in April due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Governor JB Pritzker signed a law in June that will allow Chicago Public Schools (CPS) to move the LSC election to November and extend current LSC terms until the new election takes place. The following changes took place:

  • The candidate application period reopened from August 31, 2020 to October 2, 2020.

  • Candidate forums will be held virtually from October 19–30, 2020 to give school communities the opportunity to hear from prospective members. The Linne school Candidate Forum was held on Thursday, October 28th.  For a recording of the forum see below.

  • LSC elections will be held during report card pick-up days this fall.  Elementary school LSC elections will take place on November 18, 2020 and high school LSC elections will take place on November 19, 2020.

  • Newly elected LSC members will be inaugurated on January 10, 2021 and will begin their roles on January 11, 2021. 

  • Current LSC terms will be extended from 24 to 30 months to ensure LSCs are able to continue supporting schools prior to the next election. Current members’ terms will expire on January 10, 2021 provided they continue to meet eligibility requirements.

  • New LSC members will serve for 18 months to allow the district to return to its usual spring LSC election cycle in 2022. Thus, LSC member terms for 2020–22 will conclude on July 1, 2022. 

Local School Council Election Results

(Posted 12/1/2020)
Congratulations to the recently elected LSC members! The new LSC will be inaugurated on January 10, 2021.
Parent Representatives
Joy Evans
Evelia Zavala
Lucia Marker-Moore
Nicole Cisternino
Jose Figueroa
Claudia Peralta
Community Representatives
Kavan Kucko
Bonnie Lopez
Teacher Representatives
Keyla Mendez
Jessica Nixon
Non-Teacher Staff Representatives
Ana Quintana
Chicago Public School - 2020 Local School Council Election -  Please see below for certification of results:
     Form 28-20 - Certification of LSC Election Results

Linne School LSC Election Candidates

Parent Representative Candidates

1.  Joy Evans                                                   
2.  Evelia Zavala                                             
3.  Lisa Sazenbacher                                    
4.  Lucia Marker-Moore                                

5.  Nicole Cisternino 

6.  Jose Figueroa 

7.  Betsy Johnston 

8.  Claudia Peralta 

Community Representative Candidates

26.  Kavan Kucko                                            
27.  Bonnie Lopez                                           

Teacher Representative Candidates

51.  Christine A. Flynn                                                                               
52.  Keyla Mendez                                                    

53.  Aleksandar Jovanovic 

54.  Jessica Nixon 

Non-Teacher Representative Candidate

71.  Ana G. Quintana                      

LSC Election Recordings

Local School Council Ballot Lottery

October 8, 2020 @ 5 p.m.

LSC Ballot Lottery Communication

Sorteo de posición de boleta LSC

8 octubre, 2020 a las 5 p.m.

Comunicado del sorteo de posición LSC

Local School Council Candidate Forum

October 28, 2020 @ 5 p.m.

Foro de Candidatos del Concilio Local Escolar.

30 septiembre, 2020 a las 5 p.m.